Principles of OCAP with the First Nations Information Governance Centre
Virtual
favorite_border
03 Nov 09:00 AM event_repeat
Until 03 Nov, 11:00 AM 2h

Principles of OCAP with the First Nations Information Governance Centre

place Zoom Online Meeting expand_more

The International Association of Public Participation (IAP2) BC/Yukon Board is excited to invite you to an opportunity to learn about the First Nations Principles of OCAP® (Ownership, Control, Access and Possession). The Board is partnering with the First Nations Information Governance Centre to deliver a two-part learning session to IAP2 members. The first part takes place on October 4 and the second, in-depth and more customized exploration of OCAP principles will extend over two mornings - on November 2 and 3, 2023.

The virtual session on October 4 is a free opportunity open to members and non-members and will provide a high-level of overview of the First Nations principles of OCAP®. The second customized workshop will be a deep dive for a limited number of participants, and is scheduled as follows: 9-11 am PST (12-2pm EST) on November 2 and 9 am-12 pm PST (12 – 3 pm EST) on November 3. The workshop is available to both members ($125) and non-members ($150), and will be limited to 25 participants.

OCAP® is a tool that supports strong information governance on the path to First Nations data sovereignty and is an important topic for all professionals leading engagement or research work in British Columbia.

About the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC):

The First Nations Information Governance Centre was established as an independent, incorporated non-profit entity on April 22, 2010. Their history, however, can be traced back to 1996, when the Assembly of First Nations formed a National Steering Committee to design a new national First Nations health survey in response to a decision from the Federal Government to exclude First Nations people living on reserve from three major population surveys.

FNIGC team leads education and training initiatives, engages in research and analysis, develops resources and tools, and works closely with regional partners. Topics of expertise include federal and provincial/territorial legislation, research data management, intellectual property, archival practice, data sharing, ethics, and many more. FNIGC work to develop ways to make this information more accessible, and to highlight areas of the data landscape that most impact First Nations. The team also develop tools and resources to support the implementation of OCAP® and information governance best practices. You can access this work via the FNIGC Online Library.

Click here to Register

Scan QR Code
Age Group
All